+ Reply to Thread

Thread: What can we start now?

What can we start now?

Had good sucess starting the hardy hibiscus from seed and wonder if there is anything that I can start now in pots.

I am in the process of making another bed and there will be plenty of room in the near future.

Thanks,

Jim

Smile What do you have?

Hi jimtx,

Just wondering what kind of plants you have.
    Are you wanting to start more from seed or more from clippings, or division?

Gosh, there are many things that can be done now, if you have the plants.

It's really hard to give a list of things you could be doing without knowing what you are interested in, and what you are looking for.

This is my first year growing with the intentions to sell. I have gotten a very late start this year. But do continue to do more.

You have a very long growing season since you are in such a warm humid climate, so many things can be done.

Just provide a list of your interests!
    Kathy in Ga

what can we start now

Kathy,

Thanks for the reply.

This is our (wife directs .. I dig) first year to garden. we have roses and mandevillas ... tropical hibiscus ... clemantis ... a new and full daylily bed (which we probably should have spread out into other beds but didn't) and a perennial bed with a few annuals in it.

Then we have the new bed ... which should be finished in a little while ... it is a fairly large ..round bed. Not sure what we will put in it but the height can't be too great because it would block out another bed if we use tall plants.

As far as knowing what we are doing .... we don't ... Ann has helped a whole lot and the members of the garden web filled our daylily bed. But, we are having a good time.

I enjoyed starting the hardy hibiscus from seed and would like to do some more of that ... I would also like to learn how to root cuttings .. so I am open for that.