+ Reply to Thread

Thread: opportunity knocks

opportunity knocks

I have been reading the posts on this forum for some time now and have gained much information on many subjects. I am currently in my second year of a five year plan to establish a small home based nursery business. Things are going pretty well, I have my greenhouse nearly completed, tree seeds are in stratification, some are planted and doing well. I have some garden beds completed, the list goes on and on. An opportunity presented itself to me recently and I have been giving it serious thought. The business develepoment agencey in a nearby town has expressed a need for someone to tend the plantings/containers in the business district. not only does this include summer work but in winter time requires snow removal. Now I'm not a big fan of snow but in looking at it as a chance to "get my foot in the door" I can deal with the winter. My question is, has anyone in this forum taken on this line of work? What are the pitfalls? Since I can only envision the plus side of doing great work and getting dozens of referrals I thought some objective feedback would be helpful

Sounds Like a Plan

Mike,

I would make sure of several things:

1. Clear definition of what they want done

2. A budget

3. Clear contract for your services that they have to live up to, about the financial as well as your requirements.

Gary J
    Gary J
    Center Point, TX
    Hill Country Texas Master Gardener
    USDA Zone 7B
    AHS Heat Zone 8

Gary;

Those were the first three questions I asked. I will be looking at the job this Sunday so I can start to put together a maintenance plan for the client. I do have experience in costing out work so I can get through the "stubby pencil" stuff OK

Thanks,
    Mike