+ Reply to Thread

Thread: On board

On board

Ive been noticing how many viewers are on line at one time. I forget the most at one time. I have been noticing a lot more guests than members. Its almost 3 guests to 1 member.

George.

Blog Entries
    George- I bet Ann could russle up that statistic on most viewers on line at same time.
    As for 'guests', here is something to consider. I am a member but if I decide to clean up cookies and temp files then my automatic login is gone and I 'appear' to be a guest. Of couree, if I want to post I have to login. So, some guests may be members who have either just deleted their cookies(which is better than tossing them) OR who are viewing from another pc that hasn't saved their logon info.
    I'm also sure there are guest guests as well.
    "If I keep a green bough in my heart, a singing bird will come"

Dazed lily
    Thanks for clearing that for me. I thought something was wrong. Its too complicated for me to understand. Im still learning how to use the computer.

My initial thought was its apparent that the guest has learned of Landspro its a matter of how do we make them a member now.

Well you answered it. These might be members but got hungry and ate their cookie. Thanks for clearing this up for me. George.

George,

Cathy gave you some ideas, and I'll try to explain some others.

For some reason, aol users who are not logged in as members will sometimes 'spawn' off a different guest id every time they read another thread. Once they log on, this doesn't seem to happen.

Also, there are numerous 'search engines' out there, and they are constantly probing landspro.

Sometimes, you will see more members than you see names. That is because some members choose to be anonymous and not on the active list.