+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Growing Philosophy

Growing Philosophy

I would like to see some discussion on whether to grow nursery plants chemically or organically. I am just beginning and wish to make the decision in the next week. (ordering a BUNCH of plants when I finish this.

I currently garden organically. It is the way that makes sense to me and works just fine in the veggie garden, etc. We have nearly no weeds, and relatively few bugs. We never till the garden, just pile on leaf mulch and compost, and encourage the worms to do the work for us. We have many many earthworms. We use nematodes and milky spore for the grubs, including japanese beetles and flea beetles.

I mix my own fertilizer: alfalfa meal, rock phospate, greensand, kelp, lime as needed. It gets added to the compost pile and mixed with potting soil. I also add it to the surface of our containers around the patio, etc. Compost tea and manure tea are also effective. None of this burns, but is slow to release.

The other side is using the Osmocote for fertilizing the nursery plants. Pesticides and weed killer are NOT going to be used. There are organic methods that work very well, and I am uncomfortable with the health issues that crop up. But the Osmocote is very convenient, works for many many growers, and is released in a timely manner.

I am ordering a BUNCH of plants today, so I am really interested to hear of other's experiences and thoughts.

Thank you, Sandi
    Sandi
    SE PA, zone 6b

Organic nursery?

Sandi--your topic is of great interest to me, since I'm really getting more and more "into" the organic mindset.

I read an article in Am Nurseryman a few years ago about North Slope Farm, in Pleasant Mount, PA. This fellow has been successfully doing certified organic ornamentals in containers for many years now. The article is in the May 15/01 issue if you want to try and dig it up. They even include his phone/fax no.--Richard Tregidgo, (570) 448-2374