+ Reply to Thread

Thread: winter sowing

winter sowing

Hi All,
    Well I got alot of seeds sowed.
    5 different hollyhocks, clematis (2), cup & saucer, canterbury bells, pink painted daisy, scarlet flax,maltese cross, caryopteris 'bluebeard', caryopteris 'blue mist', marigold 'flame', carnation, cosmos 'bright lights', cosmos 'sensation', 'pink mist' scaboisa, baptisa australis, cleome 'blush', 'Don Juan' climbing rose, and penstemon 'husker's red'. I still have quite a few to go. 'Purple majesty' ornamental millet, white, pink & blue balloon flower,agastache, salvia to name a few more. Hope they grow!
    Happy Growing,
    Vicki in West. Mich.

Vickie
    do hollyhocks do well started in pots and then transplanted.???
    shepp

Hollyhocks (HH)

Shepp,
    I started about 1/2 dozen last year that grew well when transplanted. Also bought a couple that were in 4" pots and they grew well also. Maybe I will find out something different this year, as I am new to growing from seed.
    Happy Growing,
    Vicki in West. Mich.

Vicki, I have sown a lot of seed this winter. Thought I would try winter sowing. So far nothing up but should be soon. I started some hollyhock seed. We'll have to compare notes later.
    tennessee sue

Vicki, My hollyhocks from the winter sowing are back in their pots green and ready to go to Farmers market this spring. I will plant a couple to see how well they do in the ground for me. I have moved back to my house and my gardens are about lost to neglect. I have a lot of work to do to get them back like they were before I rented out my little house. I have a lot I want to plant.
    Did I see somewhere that you had seed for a pink maltese cross or was I dreaming?
    tennessee sue

Sue,
    Sorry you must've been dreaming! lol! Pink maltese cross would be nice though.