+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Newbie

Hi, Everyone. Rebecca just told me about this group. Thanks for letting me join. I'm a newbie also to growing daylily seeds. Rebecca can vouch for me....lol. I had to ask her for HELP with the seeds I received from her on Thursday. Rebecca is a wonderful, awesome, helpful person. THANKYOU REBECCA!
    I just planted my first batch of seeds from Rebecca. I have a couple of small lights....waiting for hubby to put up more. Been bugging him way before Xmas....sheesh! I have other seeds I want to start. Hopefully hubby will get more lights for me. I live in Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada. It's been between -25 to -35 celcius the last 2 weeks. BRRRRR! I hate the cold. I get cabin fever big time! You can tell because I've been buying seeds from ebay like crazy....lol. I really need help! Is there a doctor in the house....lol. I work fulltime for our telephone company - MTS in the human resources department. During the warmer weather...I'm outside all the time in my gardens. I enjoy trading and buying neat and my fav plants like hostas, daylilies, lilies, sedums, etc. Okay...I'll stop blabbing for now! Thanks again!
    Donna

Oh, How FUN!

Welcome!

Yep, Rebecca is a very special person, and I am also growing some of her seedlings. They are doing quite well, and I start them under fluorescent lights. They love it, but the closer to the lights, the better. They seem to enjoy lots of moisture, especially after the seeds have been allowed to completely dry.

I think everyone is already tired of the cold, but I must tell you that if we ever got that cold here, very few things that I have would survive. I freak out when the temperatures threaten to get below 25 degrees F. Thank goodness, that doesn't happen very often.

Many landscapes would be destroyed here if it went below 10 degreees which has been known to happen in very rare years.