+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Getting Spathiphyllum sp.(Peace Lily) to Flower

Blog Entries

Getting Spathiphyllum sp.(Peace Lily) to Flower

Hi all ! Well I guess now that it is definitely too cold to garden outdoors we can set our sights indoors. I just realized that I have had a peace lily since 1998 and cannot remember the last time it flowered. It's been in a very large pot all that time. Can't say I'm a consistent waterer since it seems one time it's dry the next time it's still damp and I skip watering it. I read that humidity helps it bloom. I don't know. Any suggestions ?
    "If I keep a green bough in my heart, a singing bird will come"

I'm no expert on Peace Lily but I can tell you what works for us. Ours are on a plant stand about 2.5' up. It sits in between two shaded east facing windows, and is as far away from the heat/AC vents as possible. While it is in a space we call our "sun room" it NEVER gets any direct sunlight, but it does get a little filtered sun.

With experience you can learn to read the plant and it will tell you what it needs.
    Burned dryed leaf tips come from too much sun.
    Heavy, large leaves that tend to fall down is from too much shade, or too much water. Too much water will also turn the outer leaves yellow, and the stems get mushy.
    Droopy curling leaves are asking for water. If they do go dry, you have to set them in the sink, or some container and really soak the soil, then let it drain. The leaves will perk up within a few minutes if water was the problem. Be careful, droopy leaves can also indicate a hard day in a dry or drafty area, check the soil before watering.
    New leaves that are smaller and more horizontal are asking for fertilizer.

I think you told us what your plant needs. They can go a while without water, but after all, they are from the rain forrest, so they do not like to go dry.

You should see blooms about 3 or 4 times a year.
    Tom W
    Aching Back Farm

Blog Entries