+ Reply to Thread

Thread: winter gardening

winter gardening

Hi, I have a collection of about eight groups of Maryland native plant seed that I am looking to stratify/germinate/propogate this winter (03/04) - includes foxglove beardtongue, cardinal flower, blue flag iris, yucca, coreopsis. I would really appreciate any advice on the subject as I'm just starting out...

Blog Entries
    Welcome 'Lisa' !
    Well seeing from your profile that you are 'a gardener for an organic farm and education center', you already have one up on me. Short of looking up the requirements for each plant listed, I'll assume they are all wild and require stratification. I have seeds that are considered 'wild flowers'(purple prairie clover, mexican hat and red yarrow) and plan to just scatter them per wildflower directions(soil should not be 'too' worked;don't cover with soil) once the weather turns cold for good. The winter will take care of stratification. I'll hold back some seeds in the fridge(which is where they all are now) just in case this turns into a boondoggle, then I could try again in the spring either broadcasting them or starting them in trays.
    Last edited by Dazed_Lily; 10-05-2003 at 06:32 PM.
    "If I keep a green bough in my heart, a singing bird will come"

Welcome to Landspro! I am going to try a little winter sowing this year for the first time intentionally. From all I've read this taakes care of the stratification requirements of most perennials, esp. wildflowers. I also have a great love for natives. What zone are you in?
    What I am going to try is to plant the seed in flats after it turns really cold. I would like to leave them out in the open but will not due to haevy squirrel population. Little buggers like to plant in all my flats and displace or eat my seed. The flats will either be in an unheated greenhouse or in a covered frame. Might try covering with sometype of wire so nature can do her work and keep pests out.