+ Reply to Thread

Thread: lilies

Smile lilies

Hello everyone,
    I'm from Western Michigan. I think that these message boards (mike's & yours), are so cool. My husband, Jeff and I have been in the firewood & logging business for 16 yrs. So I know what working for yourself is all about.
    I have been creating my own little slice of paradise for the past 5 yrs. or so. It was just an open field, still is in the back but the front is looking very nice. I currently have Forsythia, spirea, wieglea, burning bush, redtwig dogwood, flowering plum, golden privet,(all in need of pruning!) common lilac, lots of lilies, hostas, blanketflowers, coneflowers, flax, and others. After reading Mike's article in Mother Earth News, Nov.2000 (it was an old issue, from my friend.) I have been able to think of little else, and have been very busy. The only shade I have is in the front, so I've been putting in a bed 12' x 40'. With a 2 ft. path between. We have sandy soil with about 8 inches of good black topsoil. I've removed the sod and plan on adding coarse sand on top for use as my cutting beds.
    My friend was moving and she gave me her plants, (she's not really into gardening, & nowhere to put them). So I dug up her 5 nice sized hostas, and made about 125 plants! Some were just roots, but are now coming up with 3 or so leaves each! My 8 yr. son helped me and he was really amazed when they popped up.
    I also did one of my yellow lilies, and made about 40 plants!
    My question is will the roots of the lilies (with the little bulby thingy, don't know what to call them) grow? I currently have them in a tray with moist mulch over them. Any help would be much appreciated!

Happy growing,
    Vicki in West. Mich.

Vicki,

Thanks for posting this question. I get asked that question a lot because of the section on root cuttings (Stokes Aster). Not all plants will grow from root cuttings. I wish I had a complete list, but I don't.