+ Reply to Thread

Thread: who is doing perennials from seed for their nursery/greenhouse sales ?

who is doing perennials from seed for their nursery/greenhouse sales ?

i am currently doing
    gaillardia
    cornflower
    coneflower white and purple
    beebalm
    daisies single and doubles
    grasses bluefescue and miscanthus
    black eyed susan -rudbeckia folgida goldsturm
    now this one all i have read says you cant do them .
    someone that has experience tell me i can .{division only}???
    i dont think so !!!
    i have been doing them for 3 years from seed and going gangbusters this year with them "BES goldsturm"
    any body seriously producing any other perennials?
    when i ask this i mean 100s to 1000s of a variety ?
    let me hear from you. thanks all !
    shepp zone 5/6 with temps down to 30 tonite, i hope this unforcast rain doesnt turn to snow , well maybe i do then i wont get frost.

Shepp,
    Perennials and herbs are my thing. I have started some gaillardia and maltese cross (lynchis), perennial herbs like catnip and lavender and rosemary. This year I hope to collect a lot of seeds from things I also do cuttings and divisions from like lovage and geraniums.
    I got some seeds today that I had ordered. Mahonia repens,rhondo.adenogynum,passiflora etc.
    I usually start perennials from seed most of the summer to have for next year.
    We start in flats and then pot up. Is this how you do it? I started some celandine poppies last year. They came on beautifully but only a few wintered over. Any experience with them?
    I started some lavender bee balm last year that is really nice this year. I just divide my red since it grows so well, but will save seed this year.
    Something else I got hold of last year is a plant of agastache reputens ?spelling). It has beautiful coral orange tubular flowers and WOW the fragrance. I love all the agastaches. Grow honey bee blue and white.