+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Mandevilla Seed

Mandevilla Seed

This is my first year to grow mandevilla and it hasn't made any seed so far this summer. I'm thinking it may be due to the right pollinator not being here. Today I used an artist's paint brush to transfer pollen but am unsure really of what I am doing (I saw this on the discovery channel once when they were hanging from cliffs and pollinating some plants after their pollinating moth had gone extinct)...So...as you see, I could really use some advice!

Male/Female Plants

Bobbie,

You certainly picked a good question! This is my understanding from what I have read. Someone can correct me if I am wrong.

First, let me explain some definitions relative to Male/Female Flowering plants.

Dioecious

There are some plants that are dioecious, meaning that some of them are male thus producing pollen and others are female and have the stigma/ovaries. This is also referred to as unisexual.. Examples are holly, kiwi, sago palm, spinach and asparagus. It is my understanding that the mandevilla is dioecious.

To complicate matters even further, some dioecious plants are self-unfruitful which means they need a different variety to be fruitful. Apples, pears and plums are examples of these. I don't believe that is the case with the Mandevilla.

Monoecious

Some plants have both male and female flowers on each individual plant, and the pollen must come from a male flower to a female flower to produce fruit. Cucumbers are examples of monoecious plant.

Perfect Flowers

Some plants have what are known as perfect flower and self pollinated meaning the pollen from a flower can be used to pollinate the stigma on the same flower. Examples are the tomatoe and the Amaryllis.

Even though a a specific variety of plant may have a perfect flower, some of them are self incompatible and will not produce fruit/seed if self pollinated.